Taking My Own Advice

So a while back I published a blog post about the importance of stepping away from your work. I was pretty specific about why a writer needs to take their time away from a written piece and just come back to it later. Have I mentioned that I really hate taking my own advice?

Ugh.

For those of you who have been following me for a bit you know that I recently participated in NaNo. I managed to get my very first book written. I didn’t write the 50k novel. It is most definitely a novella, but I wrote it.

Did I practice what I preached and take time away from that work before I started editing? Yes, I did, but only just barely. The very next day I went out and immediately printed out all 157 sheets of The Dominatrix and The Beast. I rubbed my cheek against the warm pages like an overly affectionate cat and wiggled in barely contained happiness at my own awesomeness.

I took it home, I got out my red pen, and I stopped.

I really want to jump into the indie author pool. I’m frothing to throw my work into the digital ring….or some other mishmash of cliches. But, and it’s a Sir Mix-A-Lot sized ‘but’, my work deserves to be given every chance to be awesome.

*sigh*

So I guess this means I have to take a step back and work on something else. The question, I guess, is what should I do? Should I try my hand at writing short fiction? Should I work on books two, three, and four in the Domina Claire series? Should I poke at that sci-fi novel I’ve been wanting to try my hand at?

So many questions! What about you guys? When you finish one work how do you know what to work on next?

3 thoughts on “Taking My Own Advice

  1. Keep the red pen at bay!
    I am writing short fiction and editing that, to hone my editing skills. I finally figured out what to do after the second edit. First piece will go up tomorrow some time ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Yes I know I’ve become your stalker, I’m sorry but all your posts make me want to comment. It’s all your fault, really. Nothing to do with me having no will power! So, you know, stop writing excellent posts ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  2. “But, and itโ€™s a Sir Mix-A-Lot sized but” – hahaha. You’re a delight.

    I had already started my second book while still writing my first, ha. I hadn’t intended to overlap, but the idea was CALLING TO ME.

    I penned “The End” of book 1 in mid October of 2013, and didn’t look at it or think about ANY writing for the next couple months. It helped that it was holiday time which always puts my brain in “break mode.” When January came I got to editing.

    Not sure how long I’ll wait to start editing the 2nd once it’s done. I have an intimidatingly long list of edits to make, heh. This project is a DOOZY, so I’ll definitely want the break, but I don’t think I’ll be able to stay away long because I’ll have all those things on my mind. I also don’t want to lose momentum, you know? Guess I’ll find out when the time comes.

    Like

    1. I wish that there was this perfect schedule out there that told me exactly how and when I ought to get started on my editing, that would be fantastic. Then I wouldn’t be playing this guessing game with myself.

      My other issue is that I ALWAYS get ideas for other stories while working on a project. It’s maddening.

      Also, did writing The End make you feel like you finished something? Because I never feel like I am finished.

      Like

Leave a Reply

