NaNoWriMo- I cheated

Okay, so the entire point of NaNoWriMo is to finish an 50k manuscript in the month of November. It’s an amazing concept and one that I have mixed feelings about. I’ve made those known a little over a month ago. However, I hate tearing something down when I haven’t given it a real go. So I did.

Sorta.

Here’s the thing. I did the outline. I planned it based off of how many words per chapter I usually average. Weird thing, what I average for short stories is not what I average for full fledged novels. Whoops. So, I got to the end of my outline and it turned out to be 35k.

And it only got to 35k because I went back and edited things to flesh them out a bit more.

So, I did not stick my the strictest rules of NaNo. I’m okay with that. I wrote other things by the end of the month and had put forth 50,137 words; give or take a hundred depending on what word count program I was using. I’m proud that I was capable of writing that much. However, I know that some of the things that I wrote will never see the light of day. There is a part of me that firmly believes that I would have better spent my time working on something else.

Now, don’t get me wrong. The idea of NaNo, and the organization is doing some great things. It is supporting people through getting through that hump of getting a manuscript out and down. I appreciate that. I do have a work to show for it. It got me into the habit of writing every day and made me work through some things that I was sorta flagging on.

My final verdict on the processes? I think it’s great for some people, but probably not for me.

Leave a Reply

