NaNoWriMo- Day 21

Word Count: 34,602 words

So, my story is just sitting there looking at me. It’s like a cat that’s just knocked something off the counter, swishing it’s little tail going “So what are you going to do about me, human?”

And the answer (for both really) is “I haven’t got a gosh darn clue.”

It’s the rotten truth of it all. I’ve covered the story that I was going to write. If I do any more it will be because I go back and start editing. I could do that, but it sorta breaks the Don’t Think, Just Write motto that is the core of NaNo mentality.

Okay, I’m going to be extra honest. I’ve already done a little editing. That’s how I went from 21,000 words to my current word count. Shhh. I wont tell if you don’t. I mean, I haven’t ACTUALLY gone back and edited. I’ve just re-read some of my work to be inspired to write extra things. It’s…not quite editing. Right? Yeah, right.

In my “not quite editing” I’ve noticed several themes in my work. food is a reoccurring background element. There is a diner scene, a grocery scene, two different grilling scenes, and two making breakfast post coitus scenes.

I may have a fascination with food.

Oops. I might change this in editing, chances are I wont. My lycanthropes need to eat, and my main character is a bit of a foodie. So…it fits. I just look forward to any and all reviews that go “This writer really likes to talk about food.”

Yes, yes I do.

I’ve also noticed that there are a lot of long conversations. Like, yeah they are broken up with description and movement, but the conversations go on for pages. I like it, and I’m terrified that readers are going to go ‘uuugh, these people wont shut up.’

I guess what I’m really saying is I’m terrified that everything I’ve done is wrong. Yup. That’s me. Super confident writer of all things paranormal and erotic. -insert self effacing sigh here-

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo- Day 21

  1. I’d like to THINK the conversations are interesting and/or amusing. I graduated the Joss Wheedon School for Witty Banter, and I really REALLY like talking about the cultures and mentalities of paranormal people, so a lot of the conversations revolve around that. So…you know…-crosses fingers- here’s hoping.

    Like

Leave a Reply

