Book Survey Fun!

A book survey!

So, after a pretty craptacular day of dealing with mean people I was alerted to the fact that the amazing and lovely Shannon Noel Brady tagged me for a little book survey. I am excited. Let’s do this thang!

Find a book on your shelves for each of your initials.
Well, the initials are L.A.B…no teasing. Oh gosh, now I gotta go look at my shelves. Oh no! Weirdly enough “B’ was the hardest for me. Little Women was easy, it was my grandmothers favorite book so I have three different copies of it. The Alienist  by Caleb Carr is one of my all time favorites. B…Blue Moon, by Laurell K. Hamilton

Count your age along your book shelf. What book did you land on?
It took me longer than it should to remember that I’m 29. Whoops. I got Lisa Gardner, The Other Daughter. Love this book. I like most of Gardner’s work. Also, she is an amazing human being.

Find a book you’ve read that takes place in your city or state.
Dawn by V.C. Andrews. I’ve actually stayed at the hotel that the story is set around. It has an uber creepy vibe.

Find a book that represents a destination you would love to travel to.
Oh dear…uhhh. Uhhhhhh. This is harder than I thought. Most of my books are located in space, or in fantasy settings, or like urban magic locations, or lovecraftian horror. I’m like…uhhhh, Those are amazing to read about but I’m pretty sure that eldritch horrors would kill me. Badly.

Screw it. I’m going to say that I’d want to live in the setting of the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter books. Vampires, werethings, witches, and all sorts of mythological fun things. I may not last long, but I’m down.

Find a book cover in your favorite color.
It was an exercise in futility to find a purple cover. Like, I’v now discovered most of my books are shades of black or green. Weird.

Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

Charlot’s Web. I read it in kindergarten, and every single time I saw a spider web I looked for messages or words. I guess it’s what made me really see that there was magic in books that could impact my everyday life? I dunno, I wasn’t so analytical when I was 5.

Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

I assume that this is better phrased: what book I had the most difficulty finishing. Because I have a slew of books that have bookmarks somewhere around page 10. That being said I used to be a really big Anita Blake Vampire HUnter fan. I bought all the books, read them religiously. But somewhere around The Harlequin I really just stopped having fun with them.  They began to feel very similar and the mystery/horror of the books became secondary to the sex. I don’t have a problem with sex being the theme of a book, but something about it just…did not enthuse. I still read her Merry Gentry series like it’s biblical.

Which book in your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

On Basilisk Station. I have read the first 2/3 of this book four times. The book is really well written and the characters are neat. However, military fiction is not my thing. I love the character of Honor Harrington…but there are the better part of a dozen books revolving around her that I haven’t even laid my fingers on. I’d really like to get it done.

Do you have a special place at home for reading?

I have one of those sectional couches. The spot at the bend is near a very nice window with a lovely tree outside. My cat, Nicodemus, likes to go from that window to my lap as I read. It’s very very soothing.

When do you usually do your reading?

Whenever it’s quiet. This is typically first thing in the morning. Nighttime is really lively around here and since I am the primary (please read ‘only’) cook in the house my evenings are spent cooking, cleaning up, and hacking out as much of my novel as possible.

What do you use for bookmarks?
Anything that’s handy. Seriously. I have actual bookmarks; I collect them; but I am also known to use hair ribbons, junk mail, playing cards….anything relatively flat and close at hand.

Now, to tag folks! Elegances Icy and Proofreader Hannah I would absolutely love to know your thoughts on these!

One thought on “Book Survey Fun!

Leave a Reply

