Month in the Life of a Writer- Day 10

They say it happens to everyone but you never expect it to happen to you. You are sitting there staring at that white screen and nothing is happening. Oh, you try to blame something else at first; you have to use the bathroom, or you are hungry, or the cat is sitting too close. But the truth of the matter is you’ve hit a wall and you don’t know what to do about it.

I loathe the term ‘writer’s block’. Blocks, for me, always conjured up the little letters that could build words and stories. It certainly doesn’t express the anxiety that one feels when you type the same few words over and over again and expecting Shakespeare to pop out. It doesn’t cover the doubts that creep into your mind either.

It’s daunting and I hate it.

So, in the past couple of days I think I’ve written maybe 600 words. That’s it. While that might sound like a lot 600 words is basically two pages. It’s insane. Bleh. I think the problem is I hate my ending. And by ending I mean the last three chapters. They are boring and they don’t pack the punch I want them to and they fall flat story-wise.

Time to go back over my outline and see what I can do.

Leave a Reply

