Month in the Life of a Writer- Day 8

I took yesterday off…kinda.

By that I mean I curled up on my couch with a couple of novels and a notebook handy in case I came across any neat words. Which I totally did.

  • Vestige
  • Amble
  • dilapidated
  • roaving

Great words. They will be added to my list to be used at some appropriate point in the future. I spent yesterday pretty much unplugged. I read for somewhere int he realm of nine hours, and when I was done with that I took out a bit of cross stitch that I hadn’t worked on in a few weeks. It felt nice to just relax and let any thoughts or ideas ruminated while my hands went about busy work.

I hear this rule, fairly often, that if you want to be a writer you have to write every day. I get what they mean. That you have to buckle down and write. That it can’t be just a hobby that you go to when you get some inspiration. I agree with all of that. But to tell someone that they can’t take a day off, ever, is just plain rude.

So yes, yesterday I stayed in my jammies and I read all day.

Today is going to be a different story. I’ve got some peppermint tea (my favorite) and a print out of my current work. I’m going to finish up my edits and get to work. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

